Win Scott Eckert Completes Philip José Farmer’s novel The Monster on Hold

Secrets of the Nine

The Monster on Hold

by Philip José Farmer and Win Scott Eckert

US $20 tpb/$50 hc
5.5×8.5, 220(?) pages
Trade Paperback
Limited Edition of ??? Hardcover copies

Philip José Farmer worked on The Monster on Hold, the fourth novel in his Secrets of the Nine series, in the 1970s and ’80s, but never completed it or any other works in the series. Using Farmer’s partial manuscripts and copious notes, Win Scott Eckert, co-author with Farmer of The Evil in Pemberley House, has completed the novel at long last.

They were known simply as the Nine. Grim and ancient rulers who discovered the key to eternal life thirty-thousand years ago, and ever since have held the world secretly in thrall. These dark manipulators controlled the destinies of billions, including the formidable Doc Caliban, Champion of Justice. Once, Doc had been their servant and had shared their secrets. Now, appalled by their tyranny, he and his half-brother, Lord Grandrith—bastard son of Jack the Ripper—have turned against the Nine, daring to challenge their centuries-old supremacy.

In the eighteenth century, the Nine had been faced with a similar revolt and, in desperation, summoned a thing from another dimension— a thing with the power to touch the subconscious and cause nightmares. And that thing—Shrassk—was held in abeyance in a deep cavern complex below New England.

Now, Shrassk and her Children have awakened.

Caliban, suffering from recurring nightmares in which he sees somebody much like himself—and who in these visions seems to be dreaming of Caliban—gathers his closest allies for a final showdown. Together with longtime associates Pauncho Van Veelar and Barney Banks, and his titian-haired cousin, Trish Wilde, whose superhuman skills match his own, Doc descends deep into the subterranean complex to confront an infinite evil, the unspeakable dweller lurking at the threshold between two universes…

Featuring an introduction by Bronze Gazette publisher Chuck Welch, The Monster on Hold is available in a Trade Paperback and Signed Hardcover Limited Edition. Each edition will have different cover art by well-known artists (announcements coming soon) and interior artwork by both artists. The hardcover will be signed by Win Scott Eckert, Chuck Welch and both artists.

This book will be published in a Trade Paperback and Signed Hardcover Limited Edition. You can preorder them with the paypal buttons below, but first consider these package deals:

PACKAGE DEAL #1: Get both the paperback and hardcover editions and save $7 (and even more with combined shipping).  See the Buy Now button below.

PACKAGE DEAL #2: Get all three of Meteor House’s 2021 Signed Hardcover Limited Editions: It’s Always DarkestThe Monster on Hold, and The Man Who Met Tarzan and save $12 (and even more with combined shipping).

PACKAGE DEAL #3: Get all five of of Meteor House’s 2021 releases, all three Signed Hardcover Limited Editions from package deal #2 as well as the Trade Paperback Editions of The Monster on Hold and The Man Who Met Tarzan and save $18 (and even more with combined shipping).

The book is due out in the summer/fall of 2021; preorder early to ensure you get a copy of the Signed Hardcover Limited Edition. As always, the print run on the limited edition will be determined by the number of preorders received. Not many copies beyond those reserved will be printed.

Please make sure you select the correct Paypal Buy Now button, and select the correct shipping option, when making your order:

BUTTON: Trade Paperback Edition  – $20 + shipping

BUTTON: Hardcover Edition – $50 + shipping

BUTTON: Both Editions – $63 + shipping

For Package Deal #2 and #3, please visit the 2021 Package Deals page.

Philip José Farmer (1918 – 2009) was a three time Hugo award winner and named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, capping a distinguished career of over fifty novels and one hundred short stories. He is best known for his Riverworld and World of Tiers series, and for the Wold Newton Family, which includes many recognizable characters such as Tarzan, Doc Savage, Nero Wolfe, and Sherlock Holmes. He has long been recognized as one of the foremost writers in the fields of science fiction and fantasy. He is best known for his Riverworld, World of Tiers, and Dayworld series. Visit his official website at

Win Scott Eckert is the coauthor with Philip José Farmer of the Wold Newton novel The Evil in Pemberley House, about Patricia Wildman, the daughter of a certain bronze-skinned pulp hero. Pat Wildman’s adventures continue in Eckert’s sequel, The Scarlet Jaguar. He is the editor of and contributor to Myths for the Modern Age: Philip José Farmer’s Wold Newton Universe. His tales of Zorro, The Avenger, The Phantom, The Scarlet Pimpernel, Captain Midnight, The Domino Lady, and Sherlock Holmes can be found in the pages of various character-themed anthologies from Moonstone Books, or in anthologies such as The Worlds of Philip José Farmer (Meteor House), Tales of the Shadowmen (Black Coat Press), and Tales of the Wold Newton Universe (Titan Books). He is the author of the critically acclaimed, encyclopedic two-volume CrossoversA Secret Chronology of the World 1 & 2Find him online at and @woldnewton (Twitter).